Historic Preservation Commission


The Historic Preservation Commission works on historic preservation related matters including inventories of historic properties in Athens, providing comment on historic and architectural compatibility of new and remodeled buildings in our historic districts, and providing guidance to city elected officials and administrators on related items.  

The City of Athens is a Certified Local Government for Historic Preservation


The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council. Term length is four years.

Current members
Anderson, Tim August 2026
Moore, CyrusJune 2024
Reeves, Mary AnneJune 2025
Snider, MarkAugust 2024
Valentour, JohnJuly 2027
Vedder, RichardJune 2027
Walker, Bill December 2026
City PlannerProvides administrative support to the commission


  • 2nd Monday of every month
  • 5:30 PM
  • Front Conference Room, 1st floor City Building

Meetings are occasionally canceled or rescheduled due to holidays, lack of quorum, or scheduling conflicts. We advise that anyone interested in attending confirm the meeting date and time with the Mayor's Office.

Minutes from previous meetings are available by clicking http://www.ci.athens.oh.us/AgendaCenter